• IPC 2017

First 20 smart Cities revealed under Smart Cities Mission

By Ritika Bisht
In Governance Watch
January 29, 2016

naidu_smart citiesUrban Development Minister Venkaiah Naidu has announced the first 20 cities under ‘Smart Cities Mission’ that will be transformed to smart cities. Bhubaneswar (Odisha) made it to the top with Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh) completing the list.

Naidu congratulated 11 States and the Union Territory of Delhi who have made it to the top 20 smart cities list. He said that the smart cities will demonstrate how integrated planning  and smart technologies can deliver better quality of life.

These 20 cities will be the first to receive funds, thus kick starting the process of developing them into ‘smart cities’. The next two years will see the inclusion of 40 and 38 cities, respectively.

20 smart cities shortlisted are:

  1. Bhubaneswar, Odisha
  2. Pune, Maharashtra
  3. Jaipur, Rajasthan
  4. Surat, Gujarat
  5. Kochi, Kerala
  6. Ahmedabad, Gujarat
  7. Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh
  8. Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh
  9. Solapur, Maharashtra
  10. Davangere, Karnataka
  11. Indore, Madhya Pradesh
  12. New Delhi Municipal Corporation
  13. Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu
  14. Kakinada, Andhra Pradesh
  15. Belagavi, Karnataka
  16. Udaipur, Rajasthan
  17. Guwahati, Assam
  18. Chennai, Tamil Nadu
  19. Ludhiana, Punjab
  20. Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *